Welcome our new Twitter account by visiting us here:


Adult Programs: Event Registration Link

Adult Book Discussion Group
Please join us at 6:30pm on Thursday, July 20th.

The Whole Town’s Talking by Fannie Flagg

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.


Check out the progress at the new Library site, 49 Great Oak Road-Pictures available here:

June 15, 2017

Basement floor June 15, 2017

View of the basement walls from the left side.

View of the children’s department floor slab prep.

 Other Groundbreaking and Project Pictures Here


WE NEED YOU! Interested in helping us improve our new library space? We are looking for volunteers to help our Friends.  If interested, please call or come in to sign up to help.


To sign up for Wowbrary, which is a service that sends you free weekly emails featuring Oxford Library’s most recent and wonderful new books, DVDs, and CDs we acquire each week, click here: Sign up for Wowbrary emails. Then enter the ZIP code, choose the circle next to Oxford Library, enter your email address twice, and click submit. Then you are all set to receive our weekly updates. Wowbrary allows you to immediately place reserves on all items you see of interest to you by clicking on the titles.


 Check out these new reference links:
Find A Topic-Newsbank
Newsbank-Find A Topic
America’s News
Connecticut Post Newspaper
Waterbury Republican-American Newspaper


DONATIONS:  Please contribute to the Friends of the Library in Oxford. Every dollar you donate to the Jane D. Weiss Family Foundation will be matched to double the donation to the Friends of the Library in Oxford. More information can be found here.

Donations of $25 and over with your name and address will be acknowledged as a charitable tax deduction. Thank you for your continuing support.


Kindle Titles available! Please check out our 2 Kindles donated by the Friends of the Library in Oxford. We just added numerous titles to both machines — the newest in fiction and nonfiction bestsellers are available. Come by the library to check them out! See title list.


Comments, suggestions or questions? Contact the webmaster at staff@oxfordlib.org

The Oxford Public Library is monitored by video surveillance cameras to deter criminal activity against the Library’s property, staff and patrons.